French Food 5.7.2009

A salesperson in a Le Creuset store mentioned this recipe to me a couple months ago, and it appealed to me since it sounded fairly quick and easy, and the fried egg makes me think of pisto in Spain (another dish I need to try to make). He gave me a fairly generalized version for the recipe, giving some ideas of ingredients that could be interchanged, but not giving specifics on things like cooking time. Unfortunately, he didn’t remember the name of the recipe, and I haven’t been able to find it online anywhere. So I’ve experimented with it a little. The first time I made it I tried 2 eggs per ramekin, but that volume of egg took too long to cook. I’m still perfecting the temperature/cooking time combination, but this combination worked pretty well. Also, the ingredients I used made this a somewhat Americanized version of this recipe, since I happened to have Colby jack cheese, lunch meat, and pizza sauce on hand. I believe the recommended combination was Gruyere cheese, prosciutto, and tomato sauce.

French Dish (I haven’t found the name, yet)

from the salesperson in Le Creuset

Ingredients (per ramekin): thinly sliced meat(I used ham or turkey), tomato sauce (or try ½ packet of Boboli pizza sauce), 1 egg, sliced cheese (I used colby jack)
  1. Heat the oven to 375 °F.
  2. Coat the insides of a medium-sized ramekin with butter (one ramekin per person).
  3. Line the bottom and sides of the ramekin with thinly sliced meat (ham, turkey, prosciutto, salmon, etc.).
  4. Add a layer of tomato sauce (~1 cm) on top of the turkey layer at the bottom of the ramekin.
  5. Crack an egg over the tomato sauce layer.
  6. Cover the top with slices of cheese to your liking.
  7. Set ramekins in a baking pan filled with about 1/2 in water so that the food at the bottom doesn’t burn. Bake for about 30-45 minutes or until the cheese begins to bubble and brown on the top. Egg white should be cooked, but egg yolk will be runny.
  8. Serve with a crusty bread.
One thought on “French Food 5.7.2009

Leave a Reply

