Pomegranate Pork and Almond-Lime Green Beans 5.6.2009

I decided to try something new for my sister’s birthday dinner last week. I’ve had a bottle of pomegranate molasses in my fridge since last September when I inherited it from a friend who moved away, and I’ve been meaning since then to try out a pomegranate pork recipe that my friend recommended. I didn’t completely follow the recipe and I had a couple of mishaps, but everything tasted great in the end, and I have a few notes to make my next attempt at this recipe more successful. Also, I adapted a green bean recipe for a side, for which I also have a few notes.

Pan-Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Pomegranate Molasses

See recipe from Cooking Light magazine

Notes:

  • Instead of pork tenderloin, I used boneless pork loins and just cooked them on the stove (no oven).
  • Make a little extra sauce from the beginning (maybe a double recipe). You might not need all of it, but since it takes 30 minutes to reduce, you don’t want to be making extra sauce at the last minute and have it be watery. The regular recipe doesn’t make that much sauce.
  • I don’t think the sauce needs to be strained. If you dice the shallots small enough, they cook down and aren’t that noticeable, and they add a little texture to the sauce.

Almond-Lime Green Beans

See original recipe from allrecipes.com

My version:

Ingredients: 1 lb fresh green beans, 1/2 C sliced almonds, 1/4 C butter or margarine, 2 t lime juice
  1. Melt the butter in a saucepan over low heat and toast the almonds a little bit before adding the green beans.
  2. Wash the green beans and cut their ends off.
  3. Raise the stove heat to medium and add the green beans and lime juice to the saucepan.
  4. Cook, stirring occasionally, until green beans are tender.
Leave a Reply

