Saucepan Scotchies and Pecan Pie Mini Muffins 6.1.2009

It’s been about four months since I last baked, so I thought I’d bake something to bring to work. However, I tend to be indecisive, so I decided to bake both recipes instead of picking one. Fortunately, both are fairly easy and quick, and they use most of the same ingredients.

Saucepan scotchies are a recipe my family has made since I can remember, but I’m pretty sure the recipe didn’t originate in my family. And no, there is no scotch or butterscotch in them, but the recipe does use a saucepan. I love to make them because they’re so easy and everyone loves them! The pecan pie mini muffins are a new recipe to me–in fact, I just got the recipe at my friend, Chelsea’s bridal shower this weekend, so I thought I’d give it a try. The muffins turned out great! I think this recipe might even be easier than the saucepan scotchies!

Saucepan Scotchies

from Mom and Grandma
Ingredients: 1/2 C margarine, 1 1/2 C brown sugar, 2 eggs, 1 t vanilla, 1 1/2 C sifted flour, 2 t baking powder, 1 C chopped nuts (I use pecans)
  1. Grease and flour a 13″ x 9″ pan (I’ve always used a metal pan).
  2. Melt the margarine in a saucepan, then remove the saucepan from heat.
  3. Add the brown sugar and blend.
  4. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well.
  5. Stir in the vanilla, flour, and baking powder. Mix thoroughly.
  6. Add the nuts and stir lightly to combine with the batter.
  7. Pour the batter into the pan and bake at 350°F for 20-30 minutes, or until the sides begin to brown and a toothpick poked into the center comes out clean. ***Do not overbake, or the saucepan scotchies will be hard.***
  8. Cut into squares and sprinkle with powdered sugar. Do this as soon as possible after removing the pan from the oven, or the powdered sugar won’t stick.
  9. Let the saucepan scotchies cool in the pan.

Pecan Pie Mini Muffins

From Chelsea’s cousin, Jenifer
Ingredients: 1 C packed brown sugar, 1/2 C flour, 1 C chopped pecans, 2/3 C melted butter, 2 eggs
  1. In a bowl, combine the brown sugar, flour, and pecans.
  2. Add the butter and eggs, then stir well.
  3. Spray a mini-muffin pan with cooking spray and fill each cup 2/3 full.
  4. Bake the muffins at 325°F for 20 minutes, or until the outer edges start to get darker. I used a medium-darkness pan–darker pans will take less time to bake.

makes 2 1/2 dozen mini muffins

One thought on “Saucepan Scotchies and Pecan Pie Mini Muffins 6.1.2009

Leave a Reply

