Curry Chicken Salad Wraps 6.26.2009

I wanted to cook the other night, but found myself in the position of having to run errands that would leave me hungry with too little time to cook by the time I was home. Plus, I couldn’t remember what food I had at home or whether I would need anything from the store to cook. In short, I hadn’t planned well. So, since one of my stops was at Target (not a Super Target), I decided to make the most of what I could find in their small grocery section.

I found some wheat tortillas (delicious!) and some diced pre-cooked frozen chicken. Chicken salad wraps sounded like a good option, but I didn’t want to wait for eggs to boil, so I would have to find something else to add to the chicken. I had grapes at home, so I bought a pack of mandarin orange to-go cups to supplement the grapes. The idea of a curried mayo mixture was forming in my head, but unfortunately I didn’t look up recipes online for ideas of what else might need to be added to the mayo to fill out the flavor. As a result, the wraps, while looking great, tasted like they were missing something. I checked out recipes before eating the leftovers, and figured out that a little sugar and lime juice will do the trick. The only change I’d make the next time I make this is to use regular curry powder. I used a coconut curry powder mix this time, but I think the coconut was a little too much for this recipe.

Curry Chicken Salad Wraps

Ingredients: diced cooked chicken, 1/2 C mayonnaise, 1/2 t curry powder or mix, 1 t sugar, 2 t lime juice, 1/3 C halved green grapes, 1/4 C mandarin orange wedges (I used one to-go cup, like the ones you take in your lunch), wheat tortillas (small- to medium-sized)
  1. Cook the chicken (or thaw it if you’re using frozen pre-cooked chicken, like me).
  2. Mix the curry, sugar, and lime juice into the mayonnaise.
  3. Add chicken and mix in, coating well.
  4. Mix in grapes and oranges. If you want, you can set a few aside to use as a garnish.
  5. Fill a tortilla with the desired amount of chicken salad and roll up.
Leave a Reply

