Chocolate Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies 7.8.2009

Even though I plan to bake a cake tonight for Chelsea’s birthday, I was in the mood to bake yesterday evening. However, I hadn’t yet shopped for the cake ingredients so, unprepared, I found myself missing key baking ingredients like eggs. I considered trying a vegan baking recipe since I’ve been curious about those, but instead I tried a no-bake recipe on a recommendation from Sarah. This is a first for me. I found a recipe almost identical to the one Sarah suggested. And, it just so happened that I had every ingredient it called for. Well, almost every ingredient–I had to substitute Ovaltine for cocoa powder. So I gave it a try. The result was tasty, making me think of a cross between a praline consistency and a peanut butter granola bar flavor. Everyone else enjoyed them, too!

Chocolate Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies

See original recipe from the Food Network

Notes:

  • I didn’t have cocoa powder, so I substituted Ovaltine. The same could probably be done with other forms of powdered chocolate drink mixes, if necessary.
  • Sarah insisted that the stove-top mixture has to boil for a minute and a half, so I went longer than the recipe called for.
  • While boiling the mixture on the stove, stir it constantly so the sugar doesn’t burn on the bottom of the saucepan.
  • My cookies hadn’t completely hardened after an hour (I think I made them too big–now I know why the recipe said to use a teaspoon to shape the cookies), so I put them in the fridge for an hour or two. That did the trick.
Leave a Reply

