Pain Perdu with Mint-Peach Topping and Vanilla Ice Cream 7.19.2009

I had some leftover mint leaves from the Jamaican Jerk Chicken and Mango Salsa I make a week or two ago, so I thought I’d find a use for it before it went bad (I’m actually amazed it hadn’t already!). I ran across this recipe for pain perdu (a.k.a. french toast) online while looking for vanilla cake recipes, so I held onto it for using up the mint. I kept track of more exact quantities than the recipe gave, and I made a change or two, so I’m going to go ahead and post my version here.

Overall, this was a fairly easy recipe, and it tasted wonderful!

Pain Perdu with Mint-Peach Topping and Vanilla Ice Cream

See original recipe from GroupRecipes.com
Ingredients: 4 slices of french bread (not the hard crusty kind), 4 eggs, 4 T powdered sugar, 6 T milk per slice of bread, 2 t vanilla extract, 1-1.5 peaches per slice of bread, 8 fresh mint leaves, vanilla ice cream, butter
  1. Blend egg yolks, sugar, and vanilla.
  2. Mix in milk in proportion to the number of slices of bread you plan to use.
  3. Put about 1 T of butter (or however much you like to use when making french toast) in a pan over low heat.
  4. Dip and briefly soak both sides of each slice of bread in the liquid mixture and cook in the buttered pan on both sides.
  5. Peel, slice, and core the peaches, then fry them in a separate pan until they soften. Note: You might not need as many peaches as me if you use it as more of a garnish, but I liked having lots of fruit with my french toast.
  6. Roll several slices of mint leaves and slice them into small pieces or strips.
  7. Assemble a slice of french toast topped with peaches and sprinkled with mint leaves, and add a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top or on the side.
Leave a Reply

