Rosemary Foccacia 7.19.2009

I’ve been hearing all about Italy from Corwin for the last two or three weeks, so I’ve started to crave Italian food. It’s been a while since I’ve had foccacia, so I thought I’d try to make it myself for once. Plus, I found a delicious-looking recipe for foccacia pizza that I thought I’d use with the leftover bread later in the week.

I found two recipes that were almost identical, except that one is vegan and the other includes cheese, and the vegan one uses sugar while the other uses honey. I decided to try the vegan recipe, but use honey in place of sugar.

This recipe was great! The bread was just the right flavor and consistency, except for the salt on top. Also, the bread reheats well after being refrigerated if you brush a little olive oil with rosemary mixed in over the top and heat it for about 10-15 min at 300°F.

Rosemary Foccacia

See original recipe from Vegan A Go-Go.

Notes:

  • I had to brush the salt off of my bread because the salt sprinkled over the top was a bit much. Perhaps if I had used kosher salt or sea salt (something with a larger, chunkier consistency), it wouldn’t have collected in the indentations quite as much. In any case, I thought the bread had enough flavor on its own, so I probably wouldn’t salt the top much, if at all, next time.
  • Instead of drizzling olive oil over the top and sprinkling seasonings afterward, I’d recommend mixing the seasonings into the olive oil in a bowl and using a brush to brush the mixture over the bread. The spices didn’t stick to the top of my foccacia very well, but a friend said she’s had very good luck with the alternative I mentioned. The alternative definitely worked for reheating the bread.
Leave a Reply

