Spiced Walnut Pancakes 10.1.2009

I was going to make banana pancakes with walnuts for dinner one night, but somehow I remembered everything except the bananas when I was grocery shopping. So, I played around with spices instead. I really liked them! They had a very Fallish/Wintery flavor.

Note: This recipe makes  A LOT of pancakes, so unless you love pancake leftovers like me, you might want to reduce the amount of Bisquick to 2 C. If you go down to 1 C of Bisquick, I’d suggest only using 1 egg.

Spiced Walnut Pancakes

Ingredients: 3 C Bisquick, 2 eggs, milk, nutmeg, cinnamon, 1 C walnuts

  1. Mix Bisquick, milk, and eggs until the batter is not runny, but thin enough to pour off of the spoon.
  2. Add walnuts to your liking.
  3. Add cinnamon and nutmeg. I’d recommend adding a little at first and making a test pancake to taste it, since you might not like as much spice as me (I think I used about 1/4-1/2 t of each).
  4. These don’t taste sweet since they balance the sweetness of pancake syrup, but if you’d like to eat them dry/make them into a dessert/whatever and you’d prefer they be sweet, I’d suggest adding some brown sugar to the batter.

Leave a comment