Chili 12.4.2009

We had a thirty minute flurry of snow in Austin today, and despite its brevity it put me in the mood for some warm winter food, like chili and hot chocolate. So I made chili this evening. I couldn’t find my old recipe, so I tried a new one, which I liked so much I plan to try it again the next time I make chili.

Chili

Ingredients: 1 lb ground beef, 2 cans stewed tomatoes, 1 can kidney beans, olive oil, 1 t ground garlic (or 2 cloves chopped), 2+ T chili powder, onion powder, 3 t ground cumin, 1 t dried oregano, 1/8 t unsweetened cocoa, 1/4 t cinnamon, lime juice or lime wedges, shredded cheddar cheese

  1. Cook ground beef with garlic, onion powder to taste, 2 T chili powder, and a little bit of olive oil.
  2. Add stewed tomatoes, kidney beans, cumin, oregano, cocoa, and cinnamon. Mix well and simmer for 10-15 minutes.
  3. Add more chili powder and onion powder until the taste and spiciness are to your liking.
  4. Squeeze a lime wedge (or a little lime juice) and sprinkle some cheddar cheese over the chili, and serve with french or ciabatta bread.
Leave a Reply

