Tex-Mex Salad 1.30.2010

To promote its line of organic food, HEB has been giving out coupons for all sorts of free food lately. It’s been nice, because it has motivated me to eat food I don’t normally buy, like lettuce. I never manage to finish off lettuce before it goes bad, which makes me feel wasteful, so I rarely buy it. However, with a giant container of free lettuce on my hands, I felt motivated to find ways to use it up. I did not manage to finish the entire container, but I used most of it, and I came up with a new recipe in the process.

Tex-Mex Salad

Ingredients: lettuce, tomatoes, frozen corn, small can of black olives, small can of mushrooms, can of black beans, frozen fully cooked grilled chicken, lime juice, salt, pepper
  1. Heat chicken in microwave.
  2. Dice tomatoes.
  3. Arrange lettuce on plate and top with tomatoes, corn, olives, mushrooms, black beans, and chicken.
  4. Add lime juice, salt, and pepper to taste.
Leave a Reply

