Tomato Sandwiches 1.19.2010

My boyfriend found a recipe for tomato sandwiches last fall, and as a result we both now love to make them. They’re easy and quick to make, and it’s pretty easy to keep the ingredients for them on hand. In talking to a friend one day, I found out that these sandwiches are pretty similar to a German recipe her mom used to make for her. The only difference is that the American version calls for mayonnaise, while the German recipe calls for butter.

So, I made two sandwiches one night, one the American way, and one the German way. Both were delicious, although I was surprised to find I liked the version with mayonnaise better. Sarah assures me that that would not be the case if I had had used real butter (I only had margarine on hand), so I’ll hold the verdict until I have a chance to try it with real butter.

Tomato Sandwiches

From Corwin and Sarah
Ingredients: bread, tomato, mayonnaise or butter, salt, pepper
  1. Toast the bread.
  2. Immediately after toasting the bread, spread the mayo or butter over one side of each slice.
  3. Top the bread with tomato slices (1 roma tomato covers 2 open-faced sandwiches).
  4. Sprinkle salt and pepper to your liking over the top.
Leave a Reply

