My First Panini 3.2.2010

…or rather, my first homemade panini. After a long day at work, it can be pretty difficult to motivate myself to cook (not to mention wash the dishes). Then again, the last thing I want to eat is a TV dinner or cold sandwich. It can be so tempting to just buy something on the way home, but that can get expensive, and I prefer to spend money on eating out with friends than reinforcing my laziness.

A friend of mine has the same problem, but solves the problem of warm dinner vs. motivation vs. money by making paninis for dinner. I wanted to give this a try, but I didn’t have a panini press and I wasn’t crazy about spending $50 on one. Then I remembered I had an old George Foreman Grill that my sister had gotten rid of a few years ago. In fact, I had never gotten around to using it and had even been thinking about getting rid of it myself. Fortunately I hadn’t, because it turned out to be a great panini press substitute! I think I’ll be making these more often!

Basic Panini

From Sarah
Ingredients: bread (pick a dense, hearty bread), spinach leaves, 1 roma tomato, 2 thick slices of cheese, sliced lunchmeat, olive oil
  1. Slice the tomato.
  2. Layer spinach, tomato slices, cheese slices, and lunchmeat slices on bread.
  3. Brush the bread with a little olive oil.
  4. Leave on panini press (or panini press substitute) for length of time recommended by panini press (usually 2-3 minutes). I checked mine periodically to see if the bread was browning and the cheese was melting.
Leave a Reply

