Louie’s 106 for Austin Restaurant Week 3.7.2010

I’ve wanted to try out Austin Restaurant Week for a while, so this month I decided to finally give it a try at Louie’s 106.  It was the first time I’d eaten there, and I have to say it had a great atmosphere, feeling like something out of the 1920s.

In case you haven’t heard of Austin Restaurant Week, during this event, participating restaurants offer flat-rate lunch and dinner specials that give Austinites a chance to try out new restaurants at a discounted price. The flat-rate specials usually offer a choice of an appetizer, an entree, and a dessert. Some restaurants offer dishes from their regular menus, while others showcase special off-the-menu dishes.

Louie’s had several delicious options for each of the categories, but I actually decided what to order pretty easily:

Starter: Beef Carpaccio with Capers, Shallots, and Olive Oil
Entree: Double Thick Pork Chop with Ginger Mashed Sweet Potatoes
Dessert: Flourless Chocolate Cake with Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

All three were delicious, although I think my favorites were the starter and dessert. I was almost guaranteed to like the beef carpaccio, as capers are one of the two ingredients (the other being avocado) that always catch my eye in dishes. The chocolate cake was dense and fudgy, and so rich I was glad it was a small portion and served with ice cream. I enjoyed the entree, but for once I actually wished I had picked the more traditional dish instead: I tried a bite of the striploin topped with Louie Butter that my boyfriend ordered, and despite the ginger mashed sweet potatoes and bacon-wrapped green beans on my plate, I felt just a tinge of food envy. The pork chop was delicious, but the steak was amazing. Altogether, it was a delicious dinner. I’m glad I’ve finally tried out Austin Restaurant Week!

Leave a Reply

