Fish Quiche

I had a leftover pie crust from making the spinach and crab quiche, leftover flounder from making fish recently, and lots of leftover eggs because I misjudged how many eggs I’d need for a quiche recipe. So last night I decided to try to make another quiche out of all of it. I’ve never heard of a fish quiche and only found a few recipes online for the dish, so I ended up adapting my own recipe, loosely based on this recipe (very loosely, as my fish wasn’t smoked and I didn’t have an onion or onion soup mix). I was a little nervous, but it came out very well! It had a subtle (but not bland) flavor that Corwin and I both liked.

Fish Quiche

Ingredients: olive oil, 1 lb flounder, 1 refridgerated pie crust, 1-1.5 C shredded swiss cheese, 1-1.5 C shredded mozzarella cheese, 6 eggs, milk, parsley, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper
  1. Set out the pie crust to warm to room temperature and, if the flounder is frozen, defrost it under slowly running water.
  2. Lightly grease the inside of a pie dish with olive oil and coat it with flour.
  3. Mix eggs, parsley, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and a little milk (about the amount you’d add to make the eggs fluffy if you were scrambling the eggs) in a bowl. Add however much cheese you prefer and mix in well.
  4. Let olive oil, parsley, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, and pepper warm in a pan over low heat. Since parsley has a fairly mild flavor, I’d recommend going a bit heaver on it than the other spices.
  5. Once defrosted, cook the flounder in the pan over medium heat and add spices as needed. The fish will turn white and flaky when it’s done, and I like to brown it a bit on each side to add more flavor. Remove from heat.
  6. Let the flounder cool, then flake it into the egg mixture and mix in well.
  7. Unroll the pie crust and place it in the floured pie dish. Fold under any edges that stick out too far past the edge of the dish.
  8. Pour egg and fish mixture into the pie crust and sprinkle some extra cheese (whichever type you prefer) to just cover the top.
  9. Bake at 350ºF for about 40 minutes or until the top begins to brown.
Leave a Reply

