You Had Me at Spicy and Sweet…

When I baked the mailable cookies from a couple of Easters ago that I mentioned the other day, I also found a Mexican Hot Chocolate Snickerdoodle recipe that, while I didn’t try it that time, has been on my mental to-try list ever since. The concept of a cookie that was both spicy and sweet intrigued me, as I remember trying dark chocolate with chili pepper in it and loving it a while back. And I love cinnamon in just about everything! :)

So I finally tried it this summer, and as expected, they were delicious. They taste especially good when dipped in coffee, as they’re fairly crunchy cookies so they’re very dippable and the sweet/spicy flavor goes well with the bitterness of coffee. And these cookies are also great for mailing holiday cookies, because since they’re crunchy to start with you don’t have to worry about their drying out. Also, these cookies are vegan.

Mexican Hot Chocolate Snickerdoodles

See original recipe from the Post Punk Kitchen

Notes:

  • I didn’t have parchment paper, so I cooked the cookies on a nonstick cookie sheet.
  • Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great.
  • If you don’t like crunchy cookies, you might try taking them out a little early (before they get crackly on top), although I haven’t tried this so I don’t know if they’ll turn out doughy.
Leave a Reply

