Happy Cinco de Mayo!

I had another idea in mind for my next post, but when it occurred to me that today is Cinco de Mayo, I thought I should hold off and instead share a recipe. :)

Last weekend I made a seven layer dip for the first time. I’ve seen seven layer dips at family, friend, and work get-togethers my entire life, but it never occurred to me to make one myself until recently. And then when I went to do it, I realized I didn’t even know what all seven layers of a seven layer dip are. After doing a little research I determined that most seven layer dips don’t actually have seven layers, and the contents of the layers can vary quite a bit depending on the recipe. The recipe that I used had nine layers.

Seven Layer Dip

See original recipe from allrecipes.com

1 oz package of taco seasoning mix
16 oz can of refried beans (I like using vegetarian refried beans)
8 oz package of cream cheese
16 oz container of sour cream
16 oz jar of salsa
1 large tomato
1 green bell pepper
1 bunch of green onions
1 small head of iceberg lettuce
2 C shredded cheddar cheese
1 6 oz can of black olives

Preparation:

Before starting, let the cream cheese sit out to soften. Chop the tomato, bell pepper, and green onions, and shred the lettuce. When shredding the lettuce, I recommend layering a few pieces of lettuce together at a time and folding them lightly in half before cutting them so that you have something more solid to cut through.

Layering:

First mix the refried beans and the taco seasoning and spread the mixture in the bottom of a large dish. I used an oval dish that has a slightly smaller capacity than a 13″x9″ dish, and I wouldn’t recommend going smaller than that as my dish was heaping full by the time I was done.

Next mix the sour cream and softened cream cheese and layer this over the bean mixture.

Next spread the salsa over. Using an interesting salsa can give your seven layer dip a unique flavor. I used a southwestern black bean and corn salsa.

Spread the chopped tomatoes for the next layer.

Then spread the chopped green bell pepper for the next layer.

Then spread the chopped green onions for the next layer.

Then spread as much shredded lettuce as you’d like for the next layer. I got a small head of lettuce as the recipe said and I thought half of the head was more than enough to solidly cover the surface.

Then spread the shredded cheese for the next layer.

Finally, garnish the top with sliced black olives and you’re done! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

