Texas State Fair

IMG_5484-1.JPG

I visited the Texas State Fair for the first time this month!

Food we ate

Fletcher’s corny dogs: A delicious classic, we had these as a sort of brunch since we ran across a stand before the crowds and lines set in. The person in front of me used mustard to make a face on his. I tried to do a fancy zigzag of my ketchup, but either the ketchup doesn’t lend itself as well to condiment drawings or that guy was really talented with the mustard dispenser. Either way, it was delicious and gone within minutes.

IMG_5342.JPG

IMG_5346.JPG

Fried pumpkin pie: This tied with the Texas bluebonnet for the best unusual state fair food I tried, possibly because fried pumpkin pie ends up tasting kind of like a pumpkin empanada with whipped cream. And I love pumpkin empanadas.

IMG_5386.JPG

Fried sriracha balls: Since I knew I’d be splitting a bunch of fried sweet food at the fair, I chose something small and savory (and still interesting!) to supplement it. These balls of shredded chicken, corn, and veggies were just a little spicy on their own, and just right for me. If you want more spiciness, try dipping them in the side of sriracha sauce.

IMG_5392.JPG

Fried Texas bluebonnet: This tied with the fried pumpkin pie for the best unusual state fair food I tried. Despite what it might sound like, this dish is more fried flour than fried flower. It’s a fried, cream-cheese-filled blueberry muffin topped with whipped cream, white chocolate chips, and fresh blueberries. The contrasting cold tartness of the blueberry toppers with the sweet warm fried muffin made this dish.

IMG_5396.JPG

Funnel cake ale: The novelty of this beer was that the powdered sugar rim actually went well with it. When the sugar ran out (and it did quickly since half of the rim dissolved as I walked away from the booth), the beer was OK. I wish I had had my own stash of powdered sugar so that I could have replenished the rim throughout drinking the beer.

IMG_5494.JPG

Sutter’s Salt Water Taffy: This taffy reminded me of trips to the Strand in Galveston when I was a kid. Unlike most taffy you can get in the store, this taffy is fresh, so it’s just the right amount of chewiness without gluing your teeth together.

IMG_5499.JPG

Food we didn’t eat

Among the buildings showcasing local artisan competitions across Texas from quilts to knitting to sculpture to canning, the food building was, of course, my favorite. Sharon BuMann’s sculptures of horses made of butter greeted us as we walked in. That has to take a lot of patience to make.

IMG_5374.JPG

IMG_5373.JPG

Competitors watched as judges picked their favorite baked goods.

IMG_5375.JPG

And row upon row of jars of canned fruits and vegetables and jellies, many with ribbons, lined one wall.

IMG_5380.JPG

Fair

With Ebola in the news, I’d heard that Big Tex would be talking about personal hygiene.

IMG_5359.JPG

While I didn’t see that happen, I did see bottles of hand sanitizer at just about every booth.

IMG_5340.JPG

We arrived close to opening time, so I took most of my photos at the beginning of our visit before the crowds arrived. I’d love to see this place lit up at night someday.

IMG_5347.JPG

IMG_5337.JPG

IMG_5339.JPG

IMG_5361.JPG

IMG_5353.JPG

IMG_5351.JPG

IMG_5486.JPG

Advertising

The state fair has way more advertising than I had expected. Some buildings felt like walking through rows of infomercials, and others felt like car dealerships. Interesting. I guess that must be a big part of what makes the state fair profitable.

One fun observation from walking through these buildings: I noticed an interesting car paint trend. It seems that baby blue with cream or silver accents has become popular, as Fiat and Scion showcased these two uncannily similar car models in unique (or so I thought) color combinations.

IMG_5366.JPG

IMG_5370.JPG

Canstruction

And returning to the subject of food we didn’t eat, the biggest surprise of the state fair was Canstruction, a charity event where competitors create sculptures out of cans that go to local hunger relief charities after being displayed and later disassembled. I don’t know if this is always a part of the state fair, but I hope it is! We thought this might be one room with two or three constructions of cans when we walked in, but we ended up walking through room after room of constructions. Amazing. Here are some of my favorites:

IMG_5425.JPG

IMG_5459.JPG

IMG_5441.JPG

IMG_5436.JPG

IMG_5468.JPG

IMG_5465.JPG

IMG_5464.JPG

Leave a Reply

