Vanilla Fig Balsamic Butternut Squash + Baked by Amy’s 

I’ve heard about Baked by Amy’s, the new bakery from the owner of Amy’s Ice Creams, but I keep forgetting to check it out when I’m in the area. This evening we tried their brownies. Wow. They were rich, but the dark chocolate in them mean they weren’t oversweet. I only made it through half of one before I had to save the rest for later, so you could say they go farther than some of the other brownies I’ve had, too. That’s a plus. Now I just need to remember to stop by sometime to check out the rest of their baked goods. 

 

We made Southwestern Chipotle Grilled Eggplant Sandwiches for dinner (love that recipe) with a new side that I came up with this week. I bought a jar of vanilla salt from Confituras a few months ago, not sure what I’d do with it but intrigued by the flavor combination and knowing it could bring some good recipe inspiration. Earlier this week, it came to mind when I was trying to decide how to season some butternut squash that I was in a hurry to get into the oven. I wasn’t sure if you’d be able to taste the vanilla through the balsamic vinegar, but I think they complement each other nicely. The result was a recipe that, when we repeated it today, was speculated to contain crack as a secret ingredient. Success! :)

  

Vanilla Fig Balsamic Butternut Squash

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb butternut squash, 3/4″ diced (FYI HEB sells it pre-chopped in their produce section)
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 T fig balsamic vinegar (from Con’ Olio)
  • Coarse ground black pepper
  • Vanilla salt (from Confituras)


Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, coat the butternut squash with extra virgin olive oil.
  3. Add the fig balsamic vinegar and a sprinkling of pepper and a little vanilla salt. Mix well.
  4. Spread the squash on a nonstick foil-lined cookie sheet and lightly sprinkle with vanilla salt.
  5. Bake on the center rack for 30 minutes.
Leave a Reply

